Search The Tattler

Friday, June 24, 2011

The Government Accountability Project

The Emeryville Government Accountability Project
Citizen Access

As part of the on-going effort to strengthen democratic institutions and citizen involvement in Emeryville, the Tattler will publish the telephone numbers of elected officials as they become known.  For decades here politicians made their phone numbers public and would take calls from constituents.  Sadly, this tradition has been waning, and citizen access has eroded.  Meanwhile, developers routinely meet with politicians and city staff in closed door sessions. We are dismayed to see this weakening of citizen access to the levers of power even while corporate access has never been stronger.  Accordingly, we now add the unpublished telephone number of school board member Miguel Dwin to the list of published numbers of Emeryville's elected officials.
Future would be politicians should take warning:  If you win office and try to keep your telephone number confidential, the Tattler will publish it if we can find it.
Here then is the newest contact-

Miguel Dwin, School Board Member:
(510) 381-2023

Here is the list so far:
City Council
Nora Davis -  (510) 652-2199
Ruth Atkin - Unlisted
Ken Bukowski -  (510) 305-0000
Kurt Brinkman - Unlisted
Jennifer West - (510) 420-5795

School Board
Josh Simon -  (510) 601-1480
Cheryl Webb - (510) 654-6012*
Melodi Dice - Unlisted
Pat Hooper - (510) 384-7882*
*unlisted but obtained by the Tattler


  1. Council member Kurt Brinkman owns Intrepid Electronics in Oakland. Citizens can probably get a hold of him there.

  2. 3 down, 3 to go!